Monday, December 29, 2008

mobile upload!

I am currently in vermont right now! We played 242 main last night and kids stayed it was awesome. Becca came out because she lives nearby. She let us crash at her place. Her family is so nice they treated us so well. It made me really happy to see her because we were really close at SBU last year then I hadn't seen her a lot this past and it made me sad. She made chocolate chip pancakes. mmm <3

The winter is really dangerous driving. A 9 foot van gets blown freely by the wind. There were a couple times we swerved. Today should be really good we are playing MA. I hopefully will see my friend Jess that I haven't seen in like 4 years.

Again, I love traveling. I'm going on a cruise in a week. Should be fun I guess. We will see.
I'd rather go out with TC.
But I am really happy because they might be going full time soon. That's amazing. That means I get to make a decision soon!

Oh yeah...goodbye 2008.

Friday, December 26, 2008

Christmas Time Comes Once a Year

Well, I got drunk xmas eve while sitting at this computer and playing bass. It was nice me time.

I woke up at 11am and we opened presents by 11:30. That is the latest it's EVER been.

So, I got some cool presents. My brother got me money which I do not agree with because he gave me a lot. I just can't afford to match people's gift prices anymore.
I got Rock Band 2 - and 1. Greatest EVER. Eric and I played for 7 hours yesterday. And we didn't even beat the damn thing yet.

I am hoping to download some tunes offline. So cool.

Had dinner with my family including my uncle. He cooked. SOOO good. It's nice to spend time with the little amount of family I have.

At night we were supposed to go to Montauk but those plans were killed. However a couple of us went to Dave's house. We played Scene It and Trivial Pursuit DVD Version - probably one of my favoritest times home so far. I had a lot of fun and it is things like that that make me appreciate coming home to see my friends. We just drank beers, played the game, and watched a terrible movie. Went to bed at 5am.

Good times indeed.
Now tomorrow I am heading north with TC and so excited. I am finally seeing several friends that I haven't in AGES because I been out of a band for so long (or what feels like so long...)

<3 Set Your Goals.

Wednesday, December 24, 2008

Top 10 List

Making this list...sucks. It is really hard to do.

Dob's Official Best of 2008 List

------------------------------------------
10. The All American Rejects - When the World Comes Down
Alright, so this record did just come out. It sounds similar to their old stuff, like, original record. I think some of the songs are very poppy, but in a different sound then the radio. They tried some new things. However, I feel as if the production value could be equal to a local band.
9. Anberlin - New Surrender
This record is on repeat a lot for me, well, the first couple tracks anyway. Its very rock. Straight-foward, fist-pumping singalongs. Especially songs like "Breaking" which is so good. Their song "Feel Good Drag" being on Tap Tap Revolution helps too.
8. The Hold Steady - Stay Positive
I love these guys. The speaking vocals might be what gets me on their stuff, and it continues throughout this record. I'm also happy that "Sequestered in Memphis" got airplay on RXP this year.
7. Death Cab for Cutie - Narrow Stairs
These guys got to go mainstream a bit this year. Some of their singles were really good. But the album versions of the songs as opposed to the radio-friendly versions are so much better. With tracks like "No Sunlight" and "Cath" DCFC = <3.
6. Panic at the Disco - Pretty.Odd.
Yeah. I did it. This album, reminicent of the Beatles has made it through. It's fresh. I don't like hearing their crap they had on the last CD that spawned the ridiculous amount of synth bands. "The Green Gentlemen" is AWESOME. The pop into the verse gets me everytime. It also helps that "Nine in the Afternoon" is so good that its on the beginning of 4 of the tracks that aren't the songs. ...Yeah I downloaded it so thats the version I got. Jealous? BTW - I love the loss of the punctuation in the name, but the extra in the album title? Classy.
5. Hit the Lights - Skip School Start Fights
I was worried when their singer left that they wouldn't be back. But they came back with Nick singing and I think it is the SAME 100%. I like that they even mentioned the whole deal on the first track. Everything on here is what you would expect after hearing their debut album. A little heavy at times but deep.
4. Fall Out Boy - Folie a Deux
I didn't know if I should put this on since it's only been a week. BUT I purposely waited to make this list for this to come out. The hype intrigued me and I think they definitely delievered. They grew up. Never again will there be a TTTYG, but I am okay with that. Patrick's vocals are solid. Pete even gets a bass solo (LOL). Seriously though, "What a Catch, Donnie" is my favorite song. I won't even ruin it for you.
3. Valencia - We All Need a Reason to Believe
Just because I was friends with them, I got into it. But argueably one of the most underrated bands, this is one of the best sophmore records I have heard in a LONG time. Shane sings beautifully, while the rest of the band backs him so well. These guys are great. I felt bad downloading it so I had to buy a copy. I think you should do the same. Listen to "Holiday" - just because it is rather timely.
2. Jack's Mannequin - The Glass Passenger
I miss Something Corporate. This will be the closest I will ever get. Andrew has gone through a lot, and really connects with fans because of it. I think that some of these tracks may slip a bit - oh wait who I am kidding? I love everything. "Swim" is just so good and "Caves" is just amazing. The complete change in feeling is just poppin'. I just said that.
1. Forgive Durdan - Razia's Shadow
I knew I had to put this on here. I wasn't sure where to throw it. I had never really given the band a time of day in the past. But because of all of the marketing online, I got really psyched for it. This was the first preorder I have ever spent money on. Some of my favorite guest vocalists are featured too. Perhaps the Chris Conley and Max Bemis tracks are the best. But as cheesy as it may be at times, as a whole piece of work, it is brilliant. Whether they pull it off at Bamboozle this year or not, I do not know, but I can't wait. Props to these guys, mainly Thomas Dutton, who has been going at it for a while under the radar and out of no where impresses the entire Internet generation.


There you have it. That is my "BEST OF" list of 2008.
You could agree, or disagree. Please let me know. I had a lot of trouble. I listen to a lot of music. So much that I sometimes listen to a record as little as once, not because its terrible, but because something newer (or older) finds its way into my computer. Enjoy. Happy Holidays, it's good to be home.

Pay 2 Play

My friend Kaitlyn did a report on Pay to Play here on Long Island. I thought it would be interesting to embed the video here.



BUT you should totally check out her site because she also has an article that is a take on it as well. She also has great info. Leave you comments and thoughts here, or on her page, or both!

Her site is: http://piccoli.tumblr.com/


Happy Holidays

Tuesday, December 23, 2008

New CDs

I am very happy to say that All American Rejects and Fall Out Boy put out solid releases last week.
Both make me very happy.
They are different then past records by both artists, that is why I like them. Not even SUPER DUPER BUBBLE pop.
But yeah, props to them.

Shit! I still gotta make the best of 2008 list. Are these two going to make it?

I haven't posted in a bit

i need to update later but...

i want my grades NOW


but yeah...
...tomorrow i get to go home. i been done for a week and i just have been watching movies. good times.

Friday, December 19, 2008

W3rd

Today - was interesting.
Got some things resolved, that makes me feel better.
I also did majority / finished christmas shopping.
I was on duty at 5, I watched No Country for Old Men - good movie. Then I was up here, and went to the Union for a Xmas party for WUSB. Saw friends. It was nice.
I came back to be on duty for the night, and well, my computer was off.
I had the scariest scare of my life (yes, I just said that...)
There was a fan failure. So between 4 rooms of mine, I had residents help me make it work. I had 220 tell me what to do. I had borrowed tools from 212. I had 224 pick out the dust, and finally had 218 give me caps to put my laptop in the air so the air could come out.
So now, its obviously working.
Now I am going on a Something Corporate kick.
"Konstantine" might still be the most beautiful of songs.
For sure.

"....we don't have much room to live...."

Seriously, I am in love with this right now.
I can't wait to go to NYC tomorrow with TC for cheap drinks. HELLZ!

Wednesday, December 17, 2008

Things are falling

Into place? Or not. I don't know.
I want to be fully happy.
I think when I am not on the Island, I am happy. I leave everything that hurts me. Everything that confuses me. I come back and it all comes back. I am not going to lie.
I am confused. I have been confused. I don't like hurting anyone. It's my flaw. One of my many.
When I get close to people, I stay close to them. I don't like hurting people, but who does?
But that's the problem. I cut off ties with people. And the problem builds. And builds. And builds.

But I am happy - sort of. I really don't know. I am just so scared to get close to someone again.
I am afraid of the hurt. But whoever I am around always wants to be closer then I want to get. It's not them, it really is me. I have a problem. I am always afraid I can't make someone happy.
Anyone that knows me knows that I keep someone around and do anything I can for them, then I put other things that should be priority behind. That's a problem. I can't say to myself I am too young anymore, because I am 21. But, I am too young. I should be traveling the world.

I've made mistakes in the past. I just need to go out on the road again. I just need to clear my head. School is over. I shouldn't be stressed. I just don't know which road to take.

Finals are DONE!

hap.pi.ness

n

1. Good luck; good fortune; prosperity.

2. An agreeable feeling or condition of the soul arising from good fortune or propitious happening of any kind; the possession of those circumstances or that state of being which is attended with enjoyment; the state of being happy; contentment; joyful satisfaction; felicity; blessedness.

3. Fortuitous elegance; unstudied grace; -- used especially of language.

hrm....

Tuesday, December 16, 2008

NEW FOB

I just got new FOB.
Expect more thoughts later.

Lots of "oh's from Patrick.

...this has lots of potential.

It's not what I would expect from them.

Hrm...

So, I am late.

Today was the final day of classes: WOOIE.
I actually was in the only class today, for like, 20 minutes.
Anyway, I finished my final project for JRN 310 and handed it in. I finished the final for Latin America and I am handing it in tomorrow.
THEN I got a final on Wednesday. I'm not REALLY freaking out, but I am.

I also got DC++ to work more, and I am getting some moviessss.
It effed up my live stream before. :-(

But I don't really have to wake up tomorrow. YAY!

Sunday, December 14, 2008

Bored

So here I am stuck in the office. On duty for day 3! For a recap, I have been stuck "on duty since Friday at 7PM"
It isn't too bad considering it went so fast.
I only have to be in the office 7-11 each night (Fri, Sat, Sun) and then 11pm to 7pm I am stuck in my room, with the exception of tonight, which I am done at 8:30am when the quad office opens! Woohoo.

OMG - I am listening to pandora. Anberlin's channel is on, and well, "Like a Rolling Stone" is on...from Lost Songs. WTF? I had no idea this was on here - it is a cover of Bob Dylan. This is amazing. Highly suggesting to download this later...

Anyway, I have been studying for Media Law. That is practically all I have left. I am going to Latin America tomorrow, but I did do the take home final already. I am just going to make sure most of my information is accurate. Afterwords I am going to do my stand-up for JRN 310 - and then I have to just put it on the computer, edit it, and that project should be done. I could hand that in come Tuesday (it is due Wed). My Media Law final is Wed and that is ALL I am worried about. Sucks, because I didn't realize the midnight breakfast is Tuesday night - which means I ain't gettin no sleep (yes, incorrect grammar for a purpose!)

I did some webcam chats earlier, which was a lot of fun. I had people watching me and I was playing the bass. It was basically my brother, Bryan, Sean, and some other people that I told to go in. There was also one or two randoms. It was fun I might do it again later. I think I am done studying today my mind has wandered.

Saturday, December 13, 2008

Chinese

I just ate so much chinese food. My tummy hurts.



I am on duty for the second night of this three night weekend. Booo!

I got some sleep last night, caught up on Heroes. Today I did my final for Latin America. Good times.

Tomorrow I hope to continue studying for Media Law. I got one more class on Monday for Latin America which I almost feel like I shouldn't go to if I am done with the final, we will see.



I also have to do my standup for JRN 310 on monday, its going to suck but I am so close to being done I am definitely excited.



Things are falling into place, very good.

I am just sad I couldn't go with TC this weekend. I would like to go every chance I can.

Friday, December 12, 2008

OH I forgot!

Last night after I posted, I went to go to lay down before the meeting. There was a GIANT bug in my bed. I started freaking out screaming. My suitemate Dan heard me and called to ask if I was okay (he was across the room...he called me.) Anyway, he starts freaking out. Then my roomate Vijay comes back and hes like OMG thats nuts, then he was leaving and said "Don't get eaten by the bug!"

I called Patrick. He didn't answer. I called On Duty person, which was Amanda. She was with Patrick so they both came up. They started flipping. Then my suitemate Dan was like wait let me try and tough it. He pretended it bit him, but then picked it up. IT WAS FAKE!

We all laughed but I was scared shitless. haha

Last Night

Yeah, so I definitely let loose.
I got completely soaked from the terrible rain storm, mainly cause Julie left her phone somewhere and we had to find it. I got back at like 530AM
I woke up at around 1230 from a ridiculous dream.
Basically Jamie and I were hangingout, and walking back and some guy got into an accident on his bicycle and fell into the pool. Everyone was watching, no one was going to save him. So basically she did, I called the Univ Police who didn't believe me.
Also, there were a ton of Journalism students but they wouldn't help because they were writing the story. Haha.
Anyway I guess the guy survived at the end.

Today I did work for JRN still, and then slept a bit. I also re-filled my Dec 20 show because a band or two dropped. But we are good. Now I am on duty for the entire weekend! Actually, longer. I am technically to be in the building from today at 7pm until Monday morning at 8:30am, when the Quad office opens. SUCKS!

So, expect more updates. I am going to watch Heroes/House tonight woop woop!

Thursday, December 11, 2008

Oops

I lost a day, because I am so backed up.
Yesterday I was up from 530am-230am (this morning). I don't know how I did that. I went to Bobbiques for WUSB party last night. Was with some old friends, it was nice. Then I saw Jaime and I am envious of her MacBookPro. I am getting verrrrry tempted to buy one. We will see when I get back from the cruise.

Today, for the first time ever, I made a schedule by hour what I would be doing. I stuck to it, got some, if not a lot, work done.

I got a meeting to go to in an hour. After that - partytime. I am going to do a little let loose.

BTW - there is only what, 3 weeks or so left of December (actually shorter...)
I am creating the "Best Of" List this weekend. Music for sure, other things if I have time. I have one final and one project to worry about for Wednesday. Bahhhh.

Wednesday, December 10, 2008

Tired

I have been awake since 5:45AM. Good times.
I have been through one 2 1/2 class, a brief meeting, soon to be another meeting, two more classes coming up then a holiday party for the radio.

If I live through tonight...awesome. 

TWO MORE DAYS (even tho they are both the same damn class!!)

Restless

Well I felt like crap earlier when I went to bed at 230AM.
I officially fell asleep at 3am.
And now I am awake at...645AM (I actually have been up for 45 minutes)

I am booking shows. I have gone crazy. I need to sleep.
I just cant
It's too hot in my room, and I am restless. I don't know what to do with myself. When I wake up it will be my last Wednesday. Oh my. :-x

Wrk

I think I got a lot of my JRN work done today. I am very proud that much my project is complete. Half-ass, but complete. I meet with my professor tomorrow to go over the script and I will make changes during class.
Later on in the day we had a meeting (staff meeting tuesdays!)
It sucked. I hate meeting with out staff because I feel like we never get anything done, or take forever. I stupidly took the 18th of Dec so now I can't go to All Time Low. I am pissed about that. Oh well.
I guess I will be at the Xmas party at home, and my show, and Patent Pending. You win some, you lose some.

Tuesday, December 9, 2008

Final Day of Media 403

I am in my last day of Media 403.
He liked the project.
That is awesome.
Well I still gotta finish the projects for my other class after this is done.
Boooo

"All You Need is Love" is playing haha.

Awkward Turtle

So, this will be the most awkward post ever.
For the first time on this new blog site, I will be gearing an entire post to someone, someone that probably reads this, without mentioning the name.

I am worried. I haven't heard from you in a couple of hours. Last I heard you were going out on a ride. I haven't gotten a text back, and you haven't been back online.

I should have done my work tonight, but I don't know what else to do. I really can't leave school now, nor would I have any idea where to go. I'm sure you are fine I am just paranoid as usual.

...I really, I hope you are fine.

On a side note, I did watch 4 episodes of Heroes tonight. I caught up to tonight's episode (didn't watch tonight's though)
I really need to do work. Tomorrow is the last Tuesday for me - exciting, and scary. I have to hand in my project for Media. I'm worried the professor won't like my take on it. It isn't a fictional story.

Tomorrow is judgement day. I also hope to go to the library right after class at 4. Get more of my JRN project done. I did a lot tonight after my other JRN class was done, but then, I gave up because my creativity dispersed.

Big word. Its 1:15AM. I'm out.

Monday, December 8, 2008

Long Day

Well Day 1 of 5 is complete.
School is almost over.
I did work on the project for JRN and I am still freaking.
I did all the work for media, so now I am just catching up on heroes. I am 4 episodes behind (not including tonight)
So that means I have to fit in 4 episodes, tonights, and all my school work in this week. It might be the only thing that will keep me sane. Let me update more in depth later.

Sunday, December 7, 2008

2004-2007

Were probably some of the best years of my life.
I played music with my close 5 friends.
I toured the country twice with them.
Sure, we switched a couple out in that time, but we still had fun.
...and then it abruptly ended.
I haven't really played any shows since. I guess I did like once or twice. It will never be the same.
I want to play those 4-5 chord pop rock songs again.
I want to play with Dave, Kyle, Mike and Santo again.
All I have is the 20+ recorded songs and countless pictures and videos for memories.
:-(

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vI1JSDNcK_M

Uploading videos...

Get ready for a ridiculous amount of videos I am uploading.

youtube.com/dobrock1

...so my project is basically complete. It isn't want I originally wanted. It's less like a fictional story and more like an actual event that happened to me. Oh well.

I just can't wait until Dec 24 and I could go home and the semester is over and I hopefully pass these classes. Ugh.

Post 44? or 42?

Apparently blogger is fucking with me.
On my site it says I have 43 posts. On the actual site, it says 41.
STOP SCREWING WITH ME.

Regardless, I am supposed to do another 50 by next week.
I think there is a word for that: IMPOSSIBLE.

I twitter a lot though. Check that out, its funny:
twitter.com/dobrock
andddd
youtube.com/dobrock1

Still Death

Saturday was not a good day.
I woke up at 10:15 thinking I had to drive out to SBU at 11am to do RA Interviews 12-5. But, Patrick said I didn't have to go - so that was the best news of the day. I was so hungover. I was sick all day, and watched the Britney Spears comeback special. I eventually moved at 5:30 when I drove to EAB Plaza to see tree lighting with Nate and Mike. We did promotions because Push Play was there. I got a chance to talk to their manager, KJoy, and Island 94.3. It was fun. Took some fun pictures.
Then we did an improptu to Set in Color. Got a chance to see Score 24's great set. (ALL YOU LONG ISLAND GIRLS THROW YOUR HANDS IN THE AIR...SHOUT SHOUT LIKE YOU JUST DONT CARE!)
They shouted out to me and TC a bajillion times. Got to see a ton of friends then Set in Color baby!
I left 3rd song because I drove back to SBU. It started snowing but I had another time where I almost died. I was NOT speeding. I was in cruise control and my car spun out of control and almost did a 180 on the parkway. Thay could have killed me. I wasn't even texting.

I came back and spent a lovely night with Ashley and we watched Superbad and did some fun things and slept. Then my roomate came back which was weird because he is NEVER here on the weekends. Very strange..

Why I Shouldn't Be Living

I went home on Friday night. Quiet Thursday here at school = goodtimes.
I had a girl from Hofstra come interview me in regards to Calling Out Productions (PAY 2 PLAY BABY!)
Right after, Anthony and his friend Angela came to pick me up. We were driving to Nicky's and smoked a bit. I was pretty laid back. Things were weird though. Anyway we drove to New Hyde Park train station. Anthony was about to pull into a spot on the left but asked Nicky if he could without a pass. Nicky said yeah so Anthony went to go. In that matter of I guess, 5-10 seconds a car had come up behind us and decided to pass Anthony on the left as we were pulling in. Luckily the car stopped super short. If it didnt, Nicky and Anthony would have been dead, and Erica, Angela, and I probably would be hurt terribly. It was super scary.
Anyway, we were about to get on the train and Anthony decided to go move the car (after all that!) Long story short, he ended up missing the train and Angela waited with him. Steve, Rossi, Nicky, Erica and I all went into NYC. Almost lost Nicky but then we finally got to Angels & Kings.

Mike and I ended up paying $25 all you could drink. They played, pretty sick. I'll add a video.


So that was awesome. I got really drunk quickly. ALSO! Vinnie from the movielife/IATA played....


Eventually I left with Nicky Anthony and Angela and we took the subway back to Penn. I went off and took the train to Vibe. It was Liz's birthday. I was super drunk when I got there, and ended up drinking a ridiculous amount more there. It was fun. I ended up getting a ride home from Bre and I took awesome vids that I guess I will post to youtube. But I gotta do work first.

Friday, December 5, 2008

Tonight

Tonight is going to be off the wall. Well, its going to be hectic
I am heading home now for an interview at 2pmish with some girl from Hofstra regarding Calling Out Productions. werd.
Then going into the city for:


I got TC on that last week. I am so excited, because its a great experience...and well, mad industry folk are always there because its owned by Pete Wentz. What a great chance to get noticed!!

Then, its my dear friend Liz Degen's birthday bash tonight. I'm excited. I feel bad that she moved it because of me so I can't be too late. I think i am going at like 11ish. Could be a good time. See ya later Bloggerface.

CHECK THIS OUT

So I finally installed that webcam I bought. I found something PERFECT for the media final project!!

Thursday, December 4, 2008

Xmas

Did I mention how freaked out I am that it is December 4th already?
That's (actually less than) 20 days until Christmas Eve.
I get to go home in 20 days for a month.
I haven't even started shopping yet. Well, technically I bought something for my mom and Erin, but that is it. I still need to get something for my brother and dad.
...but all that is on my mind are these final class days next week :-(

On Duty hah

I am in the college office. Just sitting here on a Thursday night. It sucks because everything is quiet, for the most part, now. I know later on I am going to be super duper busy. Mainly because everyone is always partying.
I did get SOME stuff done. I fixed staff mailboxes, sent out the pictures for Santa, and did the evaluations (which were suprisingly tough?).
Now I am just sitting here because I didn't bring anything down here.
I got in the room at 230 (my room...) and didn't really do any work. I sat there until 530 doing tour stuff for TC. I got tons of shows for them, but not during the tour so we pretty much cancelled the actual tour. Shame, I kinda feel like I let them down.
I did grab a whole slew of contacts for future reference. I used to have an excel spreadsheet of it. I want to remake one of my own because I feel like my contacts are all over the place - but saving what I can now will make things easier. I think once finals are over next week I will be able to reorganize.

Homework

It's Thursday.
I've been done with classes since 12:40PM
It is now 2:50 PM and I am about to start homework. I am hopefully going to finish all the media stuff today, and finish the Journalism stuff. I am super stressed. I have a headache. But I have no choice.

I will be updating my progress with the Media class' work on this journal. Please comment and give me suggestions and such. It will be a long day.

I am also booking TC's tour as we speak. Good times.

drunk

i need to do massive work but my suitemate is super drunk

they always try and get me to go out and party. and well, i would, but now im super stressed because of it.

i am so fucked.
at least its thursday, but i cant even have a drink :-(

Long Days

Wednesdays always suck. I wake up really early.
I got to bed really late. Not to mention Tuesdays I go to bed late too, so I am hardly sleeping.
We have one week left. Well after tomorrow, one week of classes left.
I am freaking out.
All of my media stuff should be done tomorrow, or at least almost done.
I need to do my Journalism powerpoint tomorrow too (for JRN 24/7).

I am also on duty tomorrow - which is Thursday, which means I won't get anything done because people are probably going to party.

Well, besides that, TC is playing in NYC on Friday with Vinnie of the Movielife so I am super excited for that.
...and it is Liz's birthday party on Friday night.
But then I have to head back to SBU on Saturday. Boooo. :-(

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Pictures

For a project, I took some pictures. Leave comments if you could tell what they are!

















RA'ing

Being an RA is a lot of fun. I have to complete my survey for the work I did this semester. I also have to rate the performance of the staff. I am very happy with who I work with. I am glad I am in Hamilton College.

I was the first RA to complete all of my programs (WOOHOO go me!)
I actually am doing an extra 2. I just wish I spaced them out more, it just so happened they were closer to each other.

The only downside is the weekend of Dec 12-14 I am locked in. I miss Monkeytown for this class, and I miss TC out of state weekend. Booo.

mom

So I just got a phone call from my dad telling me my mom is out of surgery and okay. I have been so bogged down, that I totally forgot that she was having surgery this morning. I feel like a toolbag, but I think it's great that she is okay. It sucks because I am only an hour away but I don't have any time to go back to see her because of class and these damn projects for all the classes. The RA thing is always a problem too.

It's a shame that she had to get this surgery but she will be okay I hope.

I'll maybe be able to swing by this weekend for a couple minutes. MINUTES. Because that is all I have :-(

floodlights

the title has nothing to do with this post.

I am no longer able to go home on the weekends because I got a lot of stuff to do here.
friday TC is playing in NYC which I definitly have to go to. also that night is liz's birthday.

I HAVE to go. I feel bad because she moved the party because I was away last weekend with TC. Why did she do that? I mean it's great, but I didn't think it meant that much to her.

I feel like a jerk because last year on her birthday I treated her like shit because of certain reasons. Bah. Now I am torn. Not to mention I havent even seen my SBU friends because I am constantly doing homework but not really.

12.2.08

Happy December.
T-minus 2 weeks.
I woke up exhausted because of the stupid workers outside my window. Luckily, I only started to wake up closer to 930am. I lost an hour of sleep because I could have slept until 1040 but because of them I couldnt do anything.
Now I pretty much have a ton of work to do.
HERE WE GOOOOOO.

...I think my final project is going to have to do with This Condition and our tour blogs since I travel all the time. Gooood times.

Monday, December 1, 2008

Thanksgiving Weekend

I absolutely love traveling. On Friday TC and I went over to Easton, PA for a show. A couple kids, people bought stuff. We basically made enough money. Plus there was a Sonic there and we got to eat with these cool people, Todd and Lauren and Co. that we met at the show. Had a great time, then came back.
I went out to the ale house to visit Fred but he had only stayed a little while longer.
The next day I had to wake up pretty early because people from MTV Casting Calls were coming over. They basically did a crib-style audition tape at my house. It was pretty fun. I signed up for the damn thing to get TC's name out, they called back, now I basically auditioned for something. Lame!!
Afterward, I went to dinner with Ian at George Martin - very expensive. But mmmm sooo good. I also had a show during that time, it was pretty good. Bands were happy, and I got paid. Good Times. Later on we all went over to Applebees and I drank some LITs. As we were about to leave more people that we knew came in - so I stayed and drank more duh!

I went home shortly after. On Sunday I went with TC to Hamilton, NJ. Took forever to get there because of Thanksgiving Traffic. Eventually we made it. We played with a Pirate metal band called Swashbuckle - so awesome, they had a blow-up pirate ship. TC had a slightly bigger crowd then most others (20+) and people had purchased CDs on iTunes, and knew the words which was rad. Either way we walked outta there with double, if not triple the amount of gas we spent. It was well-worth it.

We ended up getting lost at the end of the day, but no worries. F'n Mio.

Now, its December 1st. I have 7 days to finish approximately 6 projects. Fuck.

Thursday, November 27, 2008

Turkey Day

So, it's Thanksgiving. It is the end of November. Time is flying.
Every year I try and think what this holiday really means. For me, I get to have dinner with my mom, dad, and brother. That is all. This year, though, my uncle is here. That's cool. Basically I have a different situation because we don't really talk to our family beside who lives in this house. I don't have a big Xmas or Thanksgiving, or even Easter. The only difference when I was dating Erin I would go out with her family and it was nice to see her get along with her cousins. I don't have that.
I guess its better, because like everyone else complains, I am very busy. I don't even talk to my cousins or anything. Sometimes I think I would like it, the only downside is they are primarily younger then me.

After today, its Christmas season. That is absolutely nuts. School is ending in two weeks...I have quite a bit of projects to do for Media, and also my three Journalism classes. The only good thing is I only have one final I believe but I have to stay until the last resident leaves - on December 24th.

I also get to leave with TC Dec 27-Dec 30th. Its only 4 days, but I think it will be fun. They have been getting great press, and bookings have been pretty good.
Once the semester is over things might be a little easier, for a little bit anyway.

Btw - I am not hungry at all for food. I drank a bit last night. Went crazy. Good times.

Thursday, November 13, 2008

Life

Well, things are getting crazy.
I should be in bed.
But I can't sleep anymore.
I am too stressed. I always feel like I have something to do.
....yet I haven't done much today.
I have to do a movie, and 2 projects that are the most important.
I also have to focus on Latin American class...but that is a major fail too.

I've been doing a lot of booking, which is worth it, but I feel like I might have overwhelmed myself.

I need me time. I played some bass today. Somehow, even though I was alright when I played with This Condition, I feel like I got a little better. I'm going to try and add video to this.



Which was super awesome of them. I really want to continue to go out with them in January, but can't do to prior obligations. Totally bummed.
Anyway, I am practicing more. Hopefully gonna get a project or two started over winter break too..it was nice to play the stage again.

I need to do a lot of things for the class that I am technically writing this for. My mind is just all over the place right now.

...and well, of course I am still doing that whole RA thing. That's quite interesting.
I'm also trying to force myself to stay here this weekend ( I have an event here Sunday...) so I could focus on the school work. I think Friday, and Saturday daytimes might be big days to do work. I just have to like, do it. Wish me luck.

Thursday, November 6, 2008

Happy November - It's been a while!

It's been quite a while since I updated. A lot has happened.

Well recently, we have elected Barack Obama into the White House. It is absolutely amazing. I am proud once again to part of this country. I feel that first of all, a democrat in the White House will do wonders by a year or so in the term. Then, Obama is someone that I feel can really make a difference while in office. I hope and wish him the best. I was happy to cover the entire election on WUSB which you could probably re-stream on wusb.fm. I used the equipment, and read the news aloud. I was a little shakey since I haven't read the news on air in so long.

It's a little passed the halfway mark of the semester, actually it's more toward the end then anything. I still need to do a ton of work, and I am definitely overwhelmed. I just finished some JRN essays, but then for my other class I need to do a lot of filming and editing. That is going to take some time. Hopefully the shooting will be finished by Thanksgiving. I also am registering for classes for next semester. I hope next will be better, and I hope I pass all of my classes.

The RA gig ain't too bad. I sometimes wish I devote more time to it, even though I am doing so much for it. I enjoy interacting with people. I enjoy helping them too.

I am also writing for the Statesman. Check out articles by me at www.sbstatesman.com.
I also did some blog postings for them at ohfiftyseven.wordpress.com (mainly on CMJ!)

Finally, one of my favorite things, is bookings. Fingers crossed, I pretty much have booked up 3 shows in 3 days. That's good. I also am sending out This Condition on tour and fully booking for them. It's a lot of fun and I get to go with them when I can and want. Tomorrow they are playing CT and I get to play with them! I am uber excited!!!

And unfortunely the ending of this is things I cannot outright say. I am happy, and I am sad. I don't know really how to offically feel. But I don't want to screw up ever again. I am through playing, and hopefully people are doing the same for me. Werd.

Tuesday, October 14, 2008

Memories

Well its been a long time since I have updated this and that sucks. Anyway, I am actually in 403 right now and I decided to update.

We were just talking about the first memories that we each remember. Prof Baldwin was asking us what it was like to look at our mother's faces for the first time. Truthfully I don't remember and no one does. I was thinking back to our first memories. I remember things especially when I look at old pictures it brings me back.

This is actually giving me a want to look at old pictures to bring back these memories. It's fascinating because we can get back any memory by using something to trigger it. I actually will grab some things at home to help experience this.

One of the memories that is most important was when I was living in Queens and eventually moving out to Levittown in Long Island. I remember living in houses that were super close to each other, attending a pre-kidnergarden class over there. Weird enough we moved out and my pre-K teacher moved in our old apartment which was actually on top of my grandmother's house. Basically anytime I would go back to visit my Grandma and Grandpa - which was almost every weekend until my Grandmother's passing when I was 15 - I would talk with my ex-teacher.

I have been having a lot of dreams in regards to my grandma's house. I am fascinated by these dreams that I have been having. I really hope to focus on some dream books and figure out a way to remember some of these dreams. I need to find out what is true and what is false. It is no doubt that some of the memories in my dreams are actually true when I don't really remember them. I want to find someone that will help me trigger these memories.

Mainly, because, I cherish them.

Thursday, October 2, 2008

Confusing

So my schedule - is going to get super hectic all of a sudden.

I am not looking forward to it - and I am in the same way.

I had a really nice weekend, and today was really nice also.

I am very happy with where the rest of my life is at right now. School is just about to get in the way, though. :-/

Tuesday, September 30, 2008

Musik

So music used to be a large part of my life. Playing it, anyway.
It's been out of it for a long time, even while it was still there physically haha.

Anyway, I might bring something back into my life that was gone for such a long time. I am confused, and happy at the same time.

I haven't picked up my bass guitar in such a long time. I need to practice.

And I miss Blink 182. They are so awesome.

Sunday, September 28, 2008

Holidays!

So I had to come back to school today because of class on Monday.
It is so dumb that there is class on Monday - it is inconvenient. I can't imagine what people feel like that don't live so close.
Anyway, I brought my car back so I can leave on my own time and not wait for the LIRR. That's cool.

One problem: you need a parking pass and mine might not come until Tuesday. So I have to watch out for parking police. I think they should handle this week differently assuming most students are going home this week after tomorrow - and expect a large amount of cars that aren't normally registered.

I'll just write a note in my car window and make that work.
Well, I finished writing a 5 page paper - ehh I only made it 4 pages so I gave up.

Saturday, September 27, 2008

Home

I will be going home in an hour. Excited? I am not really too sure.

Tuesday, September 23, 2008

New Grant Proposal Idea

Here is my new premise idea. I don't know where to go from here for the film. Please leave me comments with suggestions!

My premise deals with how society thinks we should continue our education outside of the classroom while still being enrolled in a college or university. It is a model that is recommended, but not pushed fully to students, but that is changing. In the early beginnings of school, they were just monesteries in which they just were buildings where one would learn information. Then they became factory-like in the way where people would be given specific information and placed in the real world to replay everything they learned at the school. Now, the lifestyle – life outside the classroom – is being pushed as a learning experience. Sometimes, this experience is one that will help us enormously continue on after we have all graduated. At Stony Brook University, students tend to go home as soon as the weekend hits because of the transportation system. However, other colleges in the United States don’t have such a closeknit system – and much of their weekends are filled with activities for students to enjoy. SBU has taken on new programs to keep students here as well. Though success in the programs isn’t fully known, the action has taken place.

My film is going to bring together the history of the classroom, inside and out, and how students may become better in real-life because of their (hopefully) positive experiences.

Sunday, September 21, 2008

Super Stressful

I have approximately one and a half hours until I am off duty for this weekend.
I been stuck in my room since Friday at 7pm.
I have gone crazy.
Or close to it.

I need to do work.
But I been locked in for so long I just cannot function.

I studied.
I did work for Media.
I have a 5 page paper due next Monday for another class.
I am wiped out.
Save me.

Saturday, September 20, 2008

Full Bright

Well I have began shooting for the film, and I got some pretty cool shots on Friday during the rush for the train. There is still another shot I would LOVE to get but I didn't have enough time to get - I really want to get a ton of people either with their rolling bags to the station or students getting off the university bus.
I am going to upload the videos and such in a little bit - maybe tomorrow.
However I am trying to figure out how I want this thing to come together, I am thinking of focusing on a couple of events on campus - including next week's football game - that are geared toward keeping people on campus.
I know this is a short film - we didn't discuss if it were to be funny or not - I want to make it factual actually.

Anyway, I started looking at the Full Bright page. I am going to write the essay tomorrow - but I can't apply until next year. Technically I am a senior, but I am graduating Sp 2010. I am on the site and just seeing who I can talk to. There is a person on campus as well that I am able to speak to. Word.

Thursday, September 18, 2008

My Grant Proposal....Part Uno

Dear Sir or Madam,
Hello my name is Anthony Dobrini from Stony Brook University in Long Island, New York. I am inquiring about your grant in regards to a film I am doing for my Media and Film class. My professor and a group of students have come up with a whole grant group to find how to reach out for assistance when making out films. After searching on cos.com I came across your grant information and it seemed like something that could work with my film.
My premise is following the idea of education here on this campus as along with most other universities dealing with what society wants us to take out of it our education beyond the classroom. Originally universities were monasteries for us (just buildings that became place of learning) but then suddenly changed to a factory - where we were produced purposely to learn information. But now, the lifestyle aspect of campus is very important. However, many students tend to go home to mom and dad as soon as the weekend hits. So are we taking living on campus and our outside learning for granted? Here at SBU we are so closely associated with the NY transportation system, thousands of students go home on the weekends. I have an interesting idea with taking the different eras of education and how it will affect us as we enter the workforce.

Now I need to change a lot of things in that ....so I am going to work on that tomorrow. I will post a brand new update with what it should come out like. I got some good ideas from Curtis in class. Siiiiick!

Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Moving on with the Project

Today we made Vlogs in class! It was a lot of fun, and I am going to buy a new webcam - because mine is old and crappy ( I believe it was from 2000!)

A new point was brought up about my topic. Why do we pay so much money for colleges over here? "The masters is the new bachlors" is what Prof Baldwin said today. And he is very right. I don't have hopes in even attending graduate school - but now I might have to rethink that.

I almost went to Hofstra University. However, their tuition was closer to $25K a year! That is a ridiculous number for one year. It really makes me wonder what parents do when their children fail a class - or are on the seven year plan!

It really bothers me to find that someone goes to a school that is more 'prestigious' and pays all this money but they are really getting a similar education anyway you look at it. It's bullshit that universities can deny you - yet you are the ones paying the money. Doesn't everyone have a chance at the same education? Unfortunely not in this society.

Sunday, September 14, 2008

Reaction to Hurricane

Well we had our own hurricane last week, and it was a letdown (in a good way - nothing serious.)
However, Texas hasn't been so lucky with Hurricane Ike.
The storm looks like it devestated many of the cities and although the amount of people that have officially been dead because of the storm is still low, which is a good thing, the amount of damage is ridiculous. I'm curious to see what they are going to come out with the actual price range on Tuesday.

It is a eerie reminder of Hurricane Katrina when it hit New Orleans. The storm wasn't dealt with for days, weeks, months later. However, it being Texas, Bush's homestate, the storm relief is already planned for tomorrow and Tuesday, not including who has been there since the storm was going on.

It also is super suprising to see the amount of people that stayed in their homes, even after the many evacuation warnings. It really annoyed me to find one man that stayed in his home, even after authorities risked their lives to get to him to get him out. I understand if you want to be with all your belongings and those that believe it is there time to go, but when someone comes out pretty selfish like that, when other people's lives are on the line, it's a sick darn world.

Weekend Ketchup (haha)

GRANTS GRANTS GRANTS! I need to find these grants. Unfortunately I haven't had much luck yet.

This idea has been spiraling in my head in regards to this wicked project for this class.

However, my plans this past Thurs-Fri didn't work out with taking photos due to the rain - I couldn't chance getting the camera wet and such.

I have been uber confused in regards to this grant writing thing going on. :-/

However, I had a really nice weekend.
I got amazing steak yesterday.
Didn't party, but went to one. It was nice!
I am exhausted. I need to do a lot of work - yeahhhhh man.

Friday, September 12, 2008

Day 10 - Rain rain...go away...come again...never.

Commercials are weird.

Do people sit at home and watch them and go - "wow that really interests me I am going to buy that!"

A lot of them try to have some sort of umph about them - so they tend to me funny - or terrible jokes.

These companies spend millions of dollars for just a couple of seconds, and they trust that customers will come to them just because of it. I guess I don't understand the way it fully works - but it is super weird.

I am just talking about now, nights that have major events: all star game, superbowl, etc., the price rises ridiculously.

It was also funny to see washed up actors in the commercials. Funny because they have nothing else ahaha.

Thursday, September 11, 2008

Day 9 - 9/11

So today is the day that changed America seven years ago.

I debated wheather to address this in the blog, but I suddenly have this strange sense in me.

I still, like many, remember exactly where I was that day. I was in a brand new school - I had just come into 9th grade at Island Trees High School. I believe I was in biology class that year - and there was news on the loudspeaker that something had happened.

I was dumb - and maybe didn't understand right away. Well, soon enough I found out and I was glued to the TV right after. There were many conspiricies and other rumors and I followed tons of them.

I may have not (directly) lost someone in the attacks, but many friends had family members - some uncles, cousins, and some even lost their parents.

It was a scary time for me - being 15 and witnessing one of the largest attacks on a country. I am finally becoming more polical-savvy and really understand what everything was about and what direction the country took since then.

It's amazing to see how the Bush administration had covered up so much from that day, and attempted to ease Americans into making them feel safe. This coming election is going to be something super-important for all of us. The fate of the country depends on it.

God bless all those who lost someone in the attacks, overseas, or because of the attacks (those who caught sicknesses at the site count).

And hopefully, one day, America will become safe again.

Day 8 - Procrastination is Key

Does time really go by quicker when you are having fun? Or is just quicker when you are doing things?

I try to think what will make time go quicker, but when I do that - it goes slower.

In classes all day, if I stay attentive, the time will speed up. If I keep checking my phone for emails, texts, or just surfing the internet, time drags on.

I love being busy. This semester will be really cool - hopefully - because I am going to be busy all the time. With the RA job, radio station, paper, classes, booking, social lives, etc.

My only short-term goal, though, is to become more organized. I get things done - but sometimes last minute because I realize they are due almost the day before.

Wednesday, September 10, 2008

Day 7 - The Idea is moving forward!

It is time to begin my project for Media 403.

One of the social contradictions that I have talked about loosely a couple days ago was students who choose to go home on the weekends (and live here during the week). It's almost no surprise that the campus is considered 'dead' on the weekends. In recent times, Red Hot After Hours and such have attempted to keep students on campus a little longer for these special events.

Maybe little effect is seen, for now. One of the reasons I feel like nothing has changed was that one day on the LIRR. I am going to be [creepily] waiting at the train station on some of the important times (hopefully 4/5pm on Thursday, 12-4pm Friday) to see how many people are actually on the platform - and when they get there too. I want to conduct some interviews to see what their reasoning of going home - also how long the commute is and where they are going to (Bronx, NYC, upstate, etc.).

I will finally use the Flickr account too - and I will be sure to add some photos on here!

Monday, September 8, 2008

Day 6 - The beginning of the week

The week has officially began.

So, I need to go get some newspapers and stay up to date with the news again. I feel out of the loop as of recently because I read the Times everyday last two semesters and Newsday all over the summer. Now I need to get in that habit.

I am going to begin political ranting eventually, hopefully soon. I got some interesting ideas for this blog to take different turns then expected.

I also signed up for all of the other accounts for this class. Twitter - I am not too sure how I feel about it since I told one of my friends that has it she is a lameo. Now I am the same way!

Secondlife, doesn't make too much sense to me. Flickr, eh I hate yahoo. Yahoo should just give up. They had cool commercials "yahooooooooOOOooo" years ago. Now its all about google. Does Yahoo even have a word in the dictionary?

Day 5 - a failure in the making

So I spent most of the weekend in my hometown. It wasn't anything special.

Anyway I ran a show today at Vibe and unfortunely lost more money yet again.
The local music scene has died.
It's been dead for a long time, I and others have attempted to revive it.
Tickets are a necessity nowadays.
You can't have a show for less than $10.
Touring acts always ask for more then $100 per band.
It is almost impossible to have a successful show.

It is very sad, because this is something I grew up with and now no one will experience like I was able to experience it years ago.

As a music promoter, I almost feel like I am failing. It isn't my fault. I promote. I let the people know there is a show. I put on mostly known locals rather than first timers now, but still - a small amount of people show up (by small I mean 65 - I am used to 150+.)

My profession may not exist much longer. :-/

Saturday, September 6, 2008

Day 4.5 - The end of summer

So look at this. Second post in one day. I am uber-proud.

So the hurricane is passing over and is a reminder that summer is on its way out (for those of you that argue it still is going on!) and autumn already beginning.

I love summer, I love seeing everyone and traveling. But the hot air really gets to you eventually. Fall, is pretty, but is an eerie reminder of the coming months of cold - winter. Spring is actually my favorite season. However, fall reminds me of a time when I used to be in a band and travel to different states, usually the northeast - meeting friends that I have made and new ones.
It also is a time when school begins and people you are close with go away for a while because everyone goes seperate ways. This isn't high school - people have different interests or different paths.
I'm not sure if this makes too much sense - but life can sometimes be very similar to a hurricane, like the one outside.
Life can be real calm at times, we can enjoy it while having a good time with people we love. But withot notice, without a warning tons of things can happen to you in a matter of minutes and everything comes crashing down - or at least in a spiral of emotions.
Of course, when it comes time for cleanup (i.e. hurricane relief ha) you get to reallly see where everything is positioned in your life.

Now its my time to figure that out and see what I could do differently.
My life isn't truly a mess at all - but the direction I have headed is slightly confusing. It has taken me 21 years to finally realize how to control my emotions and fix anything I have broken.

On a related note - I highly suggest listening to Jack's Mannequin's new record: "The Glass Passenger".

"Currents will drag us away from our love. Just keep your head above and swim." - "Swim" by Jack's Mannequin.