Friday, January 16, 2009

Transportation

Back when I lived in Queens I felt transportation was never a problem. Granted I was 5-15 randomly when I was there (and going back from my new/current home in Levittown) but I always felt that we would get wherever so quickly. I know my Grandma and I never used a car - in fact she didn't even drive. We could take buses wherever, and then walk.

Here on Long Island, especially Levittown, that is not the case. Granted we do have buses, but they don't come as often as you'd like. I've worked with Suffolk County buses and don't even get me started on those.
Okay fine I will -
When I worked at Party City around the block from SBU, I had to catch a bus to get there. The bus time could have been 4:01, but I had to be there 10 minutes early, if it was early, and sometimes it could be 15 minutes late. Thats a ridiculous window to wait.

Anyway, back to the story.
Well here in the Dobrini household, there are four veichles. One - my brothers Honda civic, two - my dad's Mercury Tracer (which I normally 'borrow') three - my mom's Toyota and four - the unregistered TGAD van (sadface!)
As of recently my brother's car has been in the shop and has gotten ridiculously fucked over in regards to getting it fixed. So this ENTIRE break there has been three people sharing one car. Well, sorta my mom's too since she can't drive since her surgery, but still.

Unless I have planned activities, which I never do, I say I don't need the car right now to my brother when necessary. However it bites me later on when something comes up and I can't get anywhere. I have been begging for people to give me rides. Unfortunatly not all of my friends live around the block from me (some do - they help me a lot).

So tonight my brother apparently left with his girlfriend person and then hasn't come back. My mom is in Queens with her friend who is staying here for the week. My dad is downstairs. He isn't going to go out, nor could he if he wanted since there are no more cars.

I am now stuck here. I have some high school buddies hangingout around the block and some others hanging out somewhere else like 10 minutes away. Normally I would walk but due to the frigid temptures, I might as well give it up. Now I am stuck here. Alone. I have been playing Rock Band, alone, for a little while.
This really annoys me.
The worst part is I am not planning on buying a car anytime soon. 1. I won't be able to afford payments, 2. I use it so sparingly and hardly that the car would not be worth it. Plus in the Spring (countdown: 3 months from around now...) I plan on walking almost everywhere.
I guess this is a lose-lose situation.

No comments: