Tuesday, January 13, 2009

Bands...suck.

Bands bitch about tickets on a show.
then when you give them a show, they don't bring anyone.
Or, you give them tickets, day of show they pull the "oh we will just bring them at the door no worries." This is all after you call them a couple days/week before the show to ask how they are doing on tickets and they say "oh real well we sold em all."
Bullshit.

Seriously, I have heard everything in the book. Oh no man, its this particualar day that sucked for us.
Well, I'd appreciate knowing you had something else going on, or weren't going to be able to do the amount of tickets.

First of all, I require 20 tickets. Then the rest goes to the band. I don't take anything else. What is so hard about that? It seems fair to me. Yeah I understand the pay to play thing, but if you sell the tickets to fans you aren't paying shit. If you just had people show up - there is the money right there. No one is going to book you if you bring no one. I pay a certain amount of extreme money for the venue in the first place.

Second of all, if you are having a tough time, tell me. I could do something about it. Don't show up with nothing, very little, or not at all. Especially if you do not warn me. Those are irresponsible things to do.

Granted, my job is to PROMOTE to get people to the venue. I could only do so much, especially on the small bands side because not a lot of people know you guys you have to tell people.

Oh well, I am just angry on how tonight ended. I know my other shows will do well. It just annoys me when a band can't meet their end of the deal. Well this is where I am a fair promoter: I didn't have anyone pay the money they shorted me. And that is how I lost over $200 tonight.

2 comments:

Oh This Kid said...

Ahh Dobin. I love you. I'm sorry bands are assholes. Perhaps its deposit time?!? I know one band that will never let you down... I promise. So, kisses and love from me and that band!

Mike said...

your too nice..i love you tho. see you tomorrow bud.